top of page
  • Writer's pictureRobyn Payne

Surprise! I am Officially a Doctoral Student!

I was hesitant to post an announcement for fear of jinxing myself, but here we

are and it is official. I am an Abilene Christian University Wildcat and as of June 25th, I will continue my education. This morning, I received confirmation that I was accepted into the Doctorate of Education in Organizational Leadership program. I am so excited to go on this journey and even more excited to show my girls that anything is possible if they do not give up.

I remember reading an article, years ago (when the girls were toddlers), that it is statistically proven a child is more likely to pursue one degree higher than the parent. Now is this true? I have no clue, but it stuck with me and I said to myself then that I need to get at least a master's degree to ensure my girls get a doctorate. However, now I am hoping that if I get a doctorate, they will never stop learning. As a mom, I want to set my children up for success and if my getting a doctorate gives them a slightly better chance of not giving up on their dreams, then darn it, that's what I will do!

My girls are a big reason why I am taking on this journey but not the only reason. My educational philosophy revolves around lifelong learning and who would I be if I were to preach it, but not follow it? I constantly tell my learners to not give up. Keep growing and developing. I am a firm believer in practicing what you preach, so here I am. Check back often as I am sure to be making frequent updates on this exciting expedition!



So here's to my girls! Mommas got this!



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


    bottom of page