top of page
  • Writer's pictureRobyn Payne

Action Research Experience




In 5315, we were tasked with engaging in action research. This was the first time I have ever performed action research so I was nervous going in. However, once I really understood what action research was and how it would benefit my innovation project, I was excited to get started. I feel this plan will help the flow and organization of my innovation project.


Before I started my plan, I had no real idea of how I was going to measure the success of my innovation project. I knew that I would perform observations, look at their work, and test scores but not really sure of how or what specific details to look at. After putting together my action research outline, the waters began to clear and I felt more confident in my abilities to accurately conduct the action research and measurement on achievement and growth when implementing project-based learning in my classroom.


Once my outline was done, I began to work on gathering research for my literature review. It was then that I realized what areas needed more research and how I needed to focus this plan. The review of literature taught me that there has not been much research at all on the implementation of project-based learning in the upper-elementary math classroom. This is the specific focus that I am aiming my research on.


In the end, I developed a detailed action research plan that entails all of the measurement tools that I will use to gather and analyze data. I feel that this detailed plan will give me the best and most precise results to effectively measure the growth and achievement of my students after implementing project-based learning in my fourth-grade math classroom. I am excited to get started and carry out this action research to that I can spread the word to the key influencers in my institution of the benefits of my innovation project. I know that we will see leaps and bounds of success.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


    bottom of page