top of page
  • Writer's pictureRobyn Payne

Final Compilation 5317



As an educator, I have always loved reading articles and watching podcasts featuring other educators. Their expertise and advice are valuable to me and teach me so much. I love hearing stories that I can relate to and it helps me realize that I am not alone in many of my feelings and situations. Although I have read many, I never would have imagined publishing my own article but here I am doing just that and I love it just as much as I do reading them. To offer other teachers my thoughts and interests is such a rewarding experience. 


When I began writing the outline for my article, I was nervous. I had no idea how I was going to do it, or what I would write about, and I felt like I was in over my head. I had never written an article, let alone submitted it for publishing. Honestly, I did not even know that articles could be submitted for publishing. I never really thought about it but assumed that writers just worked for the particular website. However, once I got started I quickly fell in love with writing. 


Writing my rough draft was a breeze. The outline helped me take out all of the obstacles I may have encountered without it. The feedforward I received from my rough draft was helpful and I feel like it truly molded my article into a professionally written article. I fell in love with writing and influencing with this project. 


When I realized that I was going to be tasked with making a podcast or long discussion video, my nerves got the best of me. Again, I always loved watching and listening to other podcasts and videos but never imagined myself creating one. I knew that I needed to reach out to my team for this project. When we put our heads together and formed the script it all came together with ease. I won't say that we didn't have a few errors or mistakes but after I edited them out using iMovie it sounded great. This was the first time any of us had ever made a podcast so I think we did pretty amazing. I love the friendly feel that the podcast gives. Listening back to it, it sounds like my teacher friends and I collaborating and chit-chatting. Each person also gave an article pitch that would make me want to go read their article if I hadn’t already read each one. This was a fun project that I plan on continuing, so much so that I just bought myself a podcast microphone and tripod setup. Take a listen to InnovatED Podcast to hear us in action. 


In the end, I believe my final article, Microschools for the 21st Century Learner, is well-written and can interest other educators out there who are looking for an area of change. Microschools are not commonly spoken about so not many teachers know about them. When forming the outline for my article I spoke with several of my close teacher friends and they had no idea what a microschool was. When I explained it to them, they were full of interest and questions. They wanted to learn more and even played around with the idea of us starting one together. This was my goal. To get teachers thinking about how we can innovate to create change for the better in the education system. After reading the articles, Roger Schank on Invisible Learning, and Teaching Minds: How Cognitive Science Can Save Our Schools by Roger Schank, it solidified my belief that microschools could be a solution for the obstacles faced by educators. Students learn best through cognitive processes and these processes are best taught through one-on-one instruction (Schank, 2020). Microschools can open the door to this flexibility. To get a better understanding of this type of learning and what it entails, check out my latest article, A New Way of Learning



References


Education Futures LLC. (2011, September 15). Roger Schank on Invisible Learning. Educationfutures.com. https://educationfutures.com/blog/post/roger-schank-invisible-learning


Schank, R. (2020). Teaching Minds: How Cognitive Science Can Save Our Schools | Roger Schank. Roger Schank. https://www.rogerschank.com/teaching-minds-how-cognitive-science-can-save-our-schools

4 views0 comments

Comentarios


    bottom of page